Summer 2017  

ASCRS Establishes the Robert D. Madoff, MD Award for Scientific Achievement

Dr. Robert Madoff The Executive Council of the American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons (ASCRS) established the Robert D. Madoff, MD, Award to honor the longstanding editor-in-chief of Diseases of the Colon & Rectum.

Criteria for the award include an original contribution to DC&R, published within the preceding five years, which has had the greatest impact on our understanding of pathogenesis and/or treatment of colorectal disease.

“The Journal Diseases of the Colon & Rectum has a “tradition” of establishing awards in honor of retiring editors,” said Susan Galandiuk, MD, editor of DC&R. “In view of the numerous contributions of our emeritus Editor-in-Chief Robert Madoff, it is only fitting that he be similarly honored.”

Other awards in honor of DC&R editors include the Robert W. Beart, Jr. Impact Paper of the Year Award, in honor of the third editor-in-chief of DC&R and the Victor W. Fazio Award for Editorial Excellence, named in honor of the DC&R’s fourth editor-in-chief.

The Madoff awardee will be selected annually by the editor-in-chief and coeditors of DC&R and will be presented at the ASCRS Annual Business Meeting. The corresponding/senior author will receive a plaque and acknowledgement at the ASCRS Annual Meeting and on the Society’s website.

Copyright © 2017 American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons, All rights reserved.