Spring 2016  

Annual Scientific Meeting Round-up

2016 ASCRS Annual Meeting Featured SpeakersSeven speakers have been invited to present special and memorial lectures during the ASCRS Annual Meeting in Los Angeles, CA, April 30 – May 4. Their presentations will reach beyond the meeting’s main scientific emphasis to add important learnings for meeting participants. The distinguished lineup of special lecturers includes:

Norman D. Nigro, MD, Research Lectureship
Dr. Steven Wexner will introduce Dr. Angelita Habr-Gama, who will speak on “The Legacy of Norman Nigro: Back to the Future” on Sunday, May 1, 1:30-2:15 pm. Dr. Habr-Gama is professor of surgery at the University of São Paulo School of Medicine and director of the Joaquim Gama Institute in São Paulo, Brazil.

Dr. Norman Nigro is recognized for his many contributions to the care of patients with disease of the colon and rectum, as well as for his research in the prevention of large bowel cancer and treatment of squamous cell carcinoma of the anus.

Memorial Lectureship Honoring Victor Fazio, MD
Dr. Tracy Hull will introduce Dr. Ian Lavery as he honors former ASCRS President Dr. Victor Fazio with his lecture, “Management of Recurrent Cancer,” which will be held Monday, May 2, 10:00 – 10:45 am. Dr. Lavery is a staff physician in the Department of Colorectal Surgery at Cleveland Clinic in Cleveland, OH.

Dr. Fazio passed away last year at the age of 75. He was an ASCRS president from 1995-1996 and former Diseases of the Colon and Rectum editor-in-chief. He was awarded the Premier Physician Award from the Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation in 1992, inducted into the Cleveland Medical Hall of Fame in 2002 and received the Order of Australia in 2004.

Presidential Address
Dr. Donald Colvin will introduce his colleague and ASCRS President Dr. Charles Littlejohn, who will deliver his presidential address on Monday, May 2, 10:45 – 11:30 am. Dr. Littlejohn’s presidential address will be the capstone lecture to his productive and action-filled year as president.

Dr. Littlejohn served on the ASCRS Executive Council from 1999-2003 and as secretary from 2010-2014. He was the first chair of the ASCRS Young Surgeons Committee and the first colorectal surgeon to chair the American College of Surgeons’ Committee on Young Surgeons.

Harry E. Bacon, MD, Lectureship
Dr. Kirsten Wilkins will introduce Dr. Allan Kirk, who will present “Is There Still a Role for Academic Surgeons?” on Monday, May 2, 4:15 – 5:00 pm. Dr. Kirk is professor of surgery at Duke Medical Center in Durham, NC.

The Harry E. Bacon, MD, Lectureship honors Dr. Bacon, who was professor and chairman of Temple University Hospital’s Department of Proctology. Dr. Bacon established the ASCRS’s journal, Diseases of the Colon and Rectum, and served as the publication’s first editor-in-chief.

Masters in Colorectal Surgery Lectureship Honoring Robert W. Beart, Jr., MD
Dr. Heidi Nelson, introduced by Dr. John Pemberton, will honor Dr. Robert W. Beart, Jr., with her lecture, “On the Shoulders of Giants: The Story of Robert W. Beart” on Tuesday, May 3, 10:45 – 11:30 am. Dr. Nelson is the Fred C. Anderson professor at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, MN.

The Masters in Colorectal Surgery honors a different senior surgeon each year who has made a considerable contribution to the specialty and to the ASCRS. Dr. Beart served as editor-in-chief of Diseases of the Colon and Rectum and has authored or co-authored more than 300 articles and 100 book chapters.

Parviz Kamangar Humanities in Surgery Lectureship
Dr. Yanek Chiu will introduce Dr. Steven Pantilat, professor of medicine at the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF) and founding director of the UCSF Palliative Care Program in San Francisco, CA. Dr. Pantilat will present “’Doctor, Do Everything’: Life and Death in the ICU” on Tuesday, May 3, 3:45 – 4:30 pm.

This unique lectureship is funded by Mr. Parviz Kamangar, a grateful patient who wants to remind physicians and surgeons to place compassionate care at the top of the priorities list.

Ernestine Hambrick, MD, Lectureship
Introduced by Dr. Sharon Stein, Dr. Hilary Sanfey will speak on the topic of “Recognition and Remediation of Deficiency in Operative Performance” on Wednesday, May 4, 10:45 – 11:30 am. Dr. Sanfey is professor of surgery and vice chair for education at Southern Illinois University School of Medicine in Springfield, IL.

The lectureship honors Dr. Ernestine Hambrick for her dedication to patients with colon and rectal disorders, surgical students and trainees, as well as the community at large. Dr. Hambrick was the first woman to be board certified in colon and rectal surgery and mentored numerous students, residents and young surgeons throughout her career.

Copyright © 2016 American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons, All rights reserved.