Summer 2015  

Dr. Charles Littlejohn Elected ASCRS President; Dr. Patricia Roberts Chosen President Elect

ASCRS Officers

Portrait of the 2014-15 ASCRS Executive Council, front row, from left: Secretary Tracy L. Hull, MD, President Charles E. Littlejohn, MD, Immediate Past President Terry C. Hicks, MD, and President Elect Patricia L. Roberts, MD. Back row, from left: Bruce A. Orkin, MD, Vice President Gerald A. Isenberg, MD, David A. Margolin, MD, Elisa H. Birnbaum, MD, Thomas E. Read, MD, John E. Garry, MD, and Past President Michael J. Stamos, MD. Not pictured: Guy R. Orangio, MD, Vice President, Neil H. Hyman, MD, Treasurer, Steven D. Wexner, MD, Research Foundation President, and Members at Large Julio Garcia-Aguilar, MD, Heidi Nelson, MD, John R.T. Monson, MD, Samuel C. Oommen, MD, and Feza H. Remzi, MD.

Dr. Charles E. Littlejohn, Stamford, CT, was elected President of the American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons (ASCRS) at the Society’s Annual Meeting in Boston, MA, succeeding Dr. Terry C. Hicks, New Orleans, LA. Other new officers and members elected to serve on the organization’s governing Executive Council are:

  • Dr. Patricia L. Roberts, Burlington, MA, President Elect
  • Dr. Guy R. Orangio, New Orleans, LA, Vice President
  • Dr. Neil H. Hyman, Chicago, IL, Treasurer
  • Dr. Julio Garcia-Aguilar, New York, NY, Member-at-Large
  • Dr. Samuel C. Oommen, Walnut Creek, CA, Member-at-Large
  • Dr. Feza H. Remzi, Cleveland, OH, Member-at-Large

Dr. Charles LittlejohnDr. Littlejohn: President
Dr. Littlejohn is a physician/member with Stamford Health Integrated Practice (SHIP), which he joined in 2012. He established practice in Stamford, CT in 1984 and practiced privately until joining SHIP. He is Division Director for Colon and Rectal Surgery at the Stamford Hospital and Assistant Clinical Professor in the residency program affiliated with Columbia University, New York, NY. In addition, he is an attending colon and rectal surgeon at Norwalk Hospital, Norwalk, CT. He is Past Chairman of the Stamford Hospital Medical Staff and Past President of the Fairfield County Medical Society.

Dr. Littlejohn has served on the ASCRS Executive Council as a Council Member from 1999-2003 and as Secretary from 2010-2014. He was the first chair of the ASCRS Young Surgeons Committee (YSC) and the first colorectal surgeon to chair the American College of Surgeons Committee on Young Surgeons. During his tenure, the YSC established its successful traveling fellowship, an exchange program between ASCRS and the Coloproctology Section of the Royal Society of Medicine. He participated on many committees, including Emerging Technologies, Program, Regional Society and Socioeconomic/Legislative.

Born in New York City, he graduated from Dartmouth College and Dartmouth Medical School, Hanover, NH, and completed residency in general surgery at University of Rochester, Rochester, NY, and UMDNJ-Rutgers Medical School, New Brunswick, NJ. He then completed a fellowship in colon and rectal surgery at Robert Wood Johnson Medical Center, New Brunswick, NJ.

Dr. Roberts: President Elect
Dr. Roberts is Chair of the Division of Surgery at Lahey Hospital and Medical Center and Professor of Surgery at Tufts University School of Medicine. She was previously Chair of the Department of Colon and Rectal Surgery at Lahey.

Dr. Roberts received her undergraduate and MD degrees from Boston University. She completed a residency in general surgery at Boston University/Boston City Hospital and completed clinical and research training in colon and rectal surgery at the Lahey Clinic, Burlington, MA.

Dr. Roberts has been President of the American Board of Colon and Rectal Surgery and served as Chair of the Examination Committee. She was most recently ASCRS Treasurer. Dr. Roberts has been active in the ASCRS and has been Chair of the Awards Committee, Program Committee, Local Arrangements Committee, Self-Assessment Committee, Operative Competency Assessment Committee and has been Vice Chair of the Standards Committee.

Continuing on the Executive Council are Drs. Terry C. Hicks (Past President), Elisa H. Birnbaum, St. Louis, MO, Tracy L. Hull, Cleveland, OH (Secretary), David A. Margolin, New Orleans, LA, John R.T. Monson, Rochester, NY, Heidi Nelson, Rochester, MN, Bruce A. Orkin, Chicago, IL, Thomas E. Read, Burlington, MA, and Steven D. Wexner, Weston, FL (Research Foundation President).

Copyright © 2015 American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons, All rights reserved.