ASCRS Web Site
In This Issue
Winners of 2014 Mark Killingback Prize, British Traveling Fellow, ESCP to present

2014 award winners to present at the Annual Meeting include:

  • Mark Killingback Prize winner, Dr. Sanket Srinivasa, Auckland, New Zealand;
  • British Traveling Fellow, Dr. Susan Joan Moug, Glasgow, Scotland;
  • European Society of Coloproctology (ESCP) winner, Dr. Tina Yen-Ting Chen, Tage-Hansens Gade, Denmark.

Dr. Srinivasa will present a paper entitled, “Randomized clinical trial of goal-directed fluid therapy within an enhanced recovery protocol for elective colectomy.” The trial of 85 patients concluded that goal-directed fluid therapy did not provide clinical benefits in patients undergoing elective colectomy within a protocol incorporating fluid restriction.

Dr. Moug’s paper is entitled, “The Accuracy of Colonoscopic Localization of Colorectal Tumors: A prospective, multi-centered observational study.” It includes 79 patients who later underwent curative surgical resection. The study concluded that colonoscopic lesion localization is inaccurate in 19% of cases.

Dr. Chen’s paper, “Bowel Dysfunction after Rectal Cancer Treatment – A Study Comparing the Specialist’s versus Patient’s Perspective,” found that specialists differed significantly from patients in their evaluation of which bowel dysfunction symptoms truly matter to the patient or how these symptoms affect quality of life.