ASCRS Web Site
In This Issue
Lineup of special and memorial lecturers includes Congressman, experts, leaders

Speakers invited to present special and memorial lectures during the Annual Meeting in Hollywood, Florida, May 17-21, include a U.S. Congressman, a recognized authority on processes and outcomes in cancer care, the executive director of the American College of Surgeons, an ASCRS past president, the Society’s current secretary, a prominent thinker in matters related to research ethics, and ASCRS President Dr. Michael J. Stamos. Their presentations will reach outside the meeting’s main scientific emphasis to add an important learning dimension for participants.

The distinguished lineup of special lecturers includes:

U.S. Representative Dan MaffeiU.S. Representative Dan Maffei (D-Syracuse, NY), whose topic is “Health Care 2014 and Beyond: A Perspective from Congress,” the Norman D. Nigro, MD, Research Lectureship, presented Sunday, May 18, 4:45-5:15 p.m. A longtime community leader in Syracuse, NY, he has represented a Central New York district since 2008.

A descendant of Italian immigrants who came to Syracuse generations ago, Rep. Maffei worked as a reporter for a local television station and as a communications and policy advisor to U.S. Senator Bill Bradley and the late Senator Daniel Patrick Moynihan before being elected to Congress in 2008. He was also Senior Vice President at Pinnacle Capital Management, an investment firm.


Dr. Arden MorrisArden M. Morris, MD, MPH, Chair of the ASCRS Quality and Safety Committee and former co-chair of the National Quality Forum’s Steering Committee for Surgical Quality Measures, will present the Ernestine Hambrick, MD, Lectureship Monday, May 19, 11:30 a.m. – Noon. Her topic is “Scrutinizing Quality of Care in Colorectal Surgery: Do (Dis)Incentives Improve Outcomes?”

Dr. Morris is an Associate Professor of Surgery, Associate Professor of Health Behavior Education, and chief of the Division of Colorectal Surgery at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI. She is core faculty for University of Michigan’s Center of Health Outcomes and Policy and for the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Clinical Scholars Program. Dr. Morris has published extensively on processes and outcomes of cancer care, and reducing disparities in the quality of surgical care. She has begun a four-year population-based survey in Georgia and Michigan to understand the influence of patient-provider relationships on the quality of colorectal cancer care.


Dr. David HoytExecutive Director of the American College of Surgeons (ACS) since 2010, Dr. David B. Hoyt, Chicago, IL, delivers the Harry E. Bacon, MD, Lectureship Monday, May 19, Noon – 12:30 p.m., on the topic, “The Leadership Role of Surgeons in the Quality Movement.”

An honors graduate of Amherst College with an MD degree from Case Western Reserve University, Dr. Hoyt was Chairman of the Department of Surgery at the University of California, Irvine, before his ACS appointment. He remains Emeritus Professor of Surgery at the University, where he has delivered numerous named lectures and received many significant awards. He is currently the immediate Past President of the American Association for the Surgery of Trauma, Past President of the Society of General Surgeons of San Diego, Past President of the Shock Society, Past Chairman of the ACS Committee on Trauma, and Past Medical Director of Trauma at the American College of Surgeons.


Dr. David SchoetzOn Tuesday, May 20, 11:30 a.m. – Noon, ASCRS Past President (2003-2004) Dr. David J. Schoetz, Jr., Burlington, MA, will present a special memorial lectureship honoring ASCRS Past President (1980-1981) Dr. Malcolm (Mike) Veidenheimer, who died last year. His topic is “The Joys of Mentorship.” Dr. Schoetz has been a member of the staff at the Lahey Clinic since 1982, and Dr. Veidenheimer was chair of the Department of Colon and Rectal Surgery there from 1970-1987.

Dr. Schoetz, Chief Education Officer and the Designated Institutional Official at Lahey, is chairman emeritus of the colon and rectal surgery department, Professor of Surgery at Tufts University School of Medicine, and Academic Dean for Tufts at Lahey. He has been recognized as a mentor by the residents at Lahey Clinic and the ASCRS Research Foundation, and received the Zucker Prize from Tufts for lifetime achievement in teaching.


Dr. Charles LittlejohnThe Masters in Colorectal Surgery Lectureship Honoring Eugene Salvati, MD, will be given by ASCRS Secretary Dr. Charles E. Littlejohn, Stamford, CT, Wednesday, May 21, 9:30 – 10 a.m. His topic is “Lessons Learned from a Master Surgeon.”

Dr. Littlejohn is an attending colon-rectal surgeon at The Stamford Hospital and Assistant Clinical Professor in the residency program affiliated with Columbia University, New York, NY. He is past president of the Connecticut Chapter of the American College of Surgeons. Born in New York City, Dr. Littlejohn graduated from Dartmouth College and Dartmouth Medical School, Hanover, NH, and completed a Fellowship in Colon and Rectal Surgery at Robert Wood Johnson Medical Center, New Brunswick, NJ.


Dr. James DuBoisJames DuBois, PhD, DSc, Professor of Medicine and Bioethics at Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, MO, will present the Parviz Kamangar Humanities in Surgery Lectureship Wednesday, May 21, 10:00 – 10:30 a.m., on the topic, “A Humble Task: Restoring Virtue in an Age of Conflicted Medicine.”

Dr. DuBois edits Narrative Inquiry in Bioethics, an award-winning journal with Johns Hopkins University Press that shares the stories of patients, family members, and healthcare providers. He also runs “The P.I. Program,” a workshop for researchers who have violated research regulations. He has served on expert committees of the Institute of Medicine, National Institutes of Health, United Network for Organ Sharing, and the American Psychological Association.


Following tradition that goes back more than 100 years, ASCRS President Dr. Michael J. Stamos, Orange, CA, will deliver his Presidential Address which is scheduled from 6:15 – 7:00 p.m. Sunday, May 18, just before the Welcome Reception.