ASCRS Web Site
In This Issue
President's Message
Operative Competency Evaluation Committee
Why the Society is developing a case log system for MOC
Nominate journalists for 2011 National Media Awards
Washington Update

Four granted Great Comebacks® Award

Website update
Member News
Smart phone users can now connect with ASCRS through QR codes

ASCRS seeks nominations for 2011 Community Impact Award

Vancouver to host Society's 2011 Annual Meeting, May 14 - 18

In This Issue
Annual Meeting Information
ASCRS Website
ASCRS Research Foundation
ASCRS Facebook Page

ASCRS seeks nominations for 2011 Community Impact Award

ASCRS is accepting nominations for its Community Impact Award, which recognizes important volunteer work by Society members in their communities, ASCRS President Dr. David Beck, New Orleans, LA, announced. Nominations must be submitted by March 1.

Instructions for submitting nominations, and additional information on the award, are available on the ASCRS Website,

The Society welcomes nominations from the general membership, ASCRS regional societies and affiliated International Societies. Nominees must be an ASCRS member or fellow in good standing.

The Public Relations Committee will review all submitted nominations and select one nominee as recipient of the Community Impact Award. Nominations will be graded on the following criteria:

  • Community impact;
  • Humanitarianism;
  • Long-term effect;
  • Number of people served;
  • Length of service;
  • Organizational leadership;
  • Frequency of service.

Submit nominations electronically to Nominations should include the nominee’s name and address, the name of the person or organization submitting the nomination, and a one-page summary of the nominee’s community service activity.

The winner will be announced at the Annual Meeting in Vancouver, BC, Canada. The award recipient will receive a commemorative plaque and a $1,000 donation by the Society for the physician’s charity of choice. The Society will develop a news release announcing the award winner and distribute it to media professionals in the winner’s local market.

Previous Community Impact Award winners are:

  • Dr. Rudolph B. Rustin, III, Mount Pleasant, SC, for his work with a nonprofit organization that provides free medical care and prescription drugs to South Carolina’s uninsured.
  • Dr. Gordon Klatt, Tacoma, WA, founder of the American Cancer Society’s “Relay for Life.”
  • Dr. Michael Keighley, Warwickshire, UK, for his work as a pro bono advisor and mentor at Christian Medical College and University Hospital, Vellore, Tamil Nadu, South India.
  • Dr. Peter A. Cataldo, Burlington, VT, for his leadership in establishing a free surgery clinic that serves many of Burlington’s most impoverished residents.
  • Dr. Dennis A. Fried, Charleston, SC, for his role in establishing a colorectal surgery clinic in Belize, and for performing colorectal surgery on patients from Belize in Charleston.