American Society of Colon & Rectal Surgeons News
ASCRS Web Site
In This Issue
Dr. Steven Wexner, Weston, FL, ASCRS President; Dr. Alan Thorson, Omaha, NE, President-elect
Vancouver Annual Meeting sets attendance record
Presidential Address:
Outgoing President Dr. David Back outlines value of “Choosing your Goals”
ASCRS retains AMA House of Delegates seat

High quality drives DC&R’s Impact Factor to 2.819

Results of Operative Competency Evaluation Committee’s first technical skills assessment exam “very exciting”
ASCRS awards three National Media Awards; two special media and advocacy awards
Awards honor accomplishments, papers, presentations, posters, videos
2011 International Scholar Report: Memorable ASCRS Fellowship experience will enhance delivery of colorectal surgery services in Bangladesh
2010 International Scholar Report: Fellowship experience will enhance delivery of colorectal care in Jamaica
Health policy scholarship prepared Dr. Robert Cima to take leadership role in shaping U.S. healthcare system
Society extends CBS HealthWatch™ Campaign, Participates in Final 4 “Coaches Huddle”
Great Comebacks® honors Chuck Wielgus, Heidi Cross, RN
ASCRS Premier Partners
ASCRS Committee Chairs, 2011-12
ASCRS Welcomes New Fellows, Members, Candidates
Call for abstracts, 2010 Annual Meeting, San Antonio, June 2-6
Working models of Society’s own case log system for MOC reviewed in Vancouver
In This Issue
Annual Meeting Information
ASCRS Website
ASCRS Research Foundation
Annual Meeting Information
ASCRS Facebook Page
ASCRS Committee Chairs, 2011-2012

Awards Committee
James Yoo, MD, Chair

Bylaws Committee
Michael Snyder, MD, Chair

Continuing Education Committee
Judith Trudel, MD, Chair

CREST Committee
Elisa Birnbaum, MD, Chair

Finance and Management Committee
Terry Hicks, MD, Chair

History of ASCRS Committee
Richard Billingham, MD, Chair

Hospitality Committee
Sharon Beck Chair

Industry Relations Committee
Anthony Senagore, MD, Chair

Leadership COI Committee
Lester Rosen, MD, Chair

Local Arrangements Committee
Raul Ramos, MD, Chair

Membership Committee
Maher Abbas, MD, Chair

New Technologies Committee
Peter Marcello, MD, Chair

Operative Competency Evaluation Committee
Patricia Roberts, MD, Chair

Professional Outreach Committee
Thomas Cataldo, MD, Chair

Program Committee
Dana Sands, MD, Chair
David Maron, MD, Co-chair

Public Relations Committee
Harry Papaconstantinou, MD, Chair

Quality Assessment and Safety Committee
Nancy Baxter, MD, Chair
Arden Morris, MD, Co-Chair

Rectal Cancer Coordinating Committee
Steven Wexner, MD, Chair

Regional Society Committee
Jon Palmintier, MD, Chair

Residents Committee
Eric Weiss, MD, Chair

Self Assessment Committee
Matthew Mutch, MD, Chair

Socioeconomic Committee
James Merlino, MD, Chair

W. Donald Buie, MD, Chair
Janice Rafferty, MD, Co-Chair

Video Based Education Committee
Tonia Young-Fadok, MD, Chair

Website Committee
David Margolin, MD, Chair

Young Surgeons Committee
Sharon Stein, MD, Chair